the King

A stay in Chester would not have been complete without a trip to the zoo. It is so much bigger than I remembered it. I still cannot make my mind up whether I agree with zoos or not, after a safari in Africa I say no, today I said yes. This zoo is so educational, the number of school children there enjoying and learning. The breeding programmes. It's a tough call.
Anyway we enjoyed it and where else can I get a photo like this one of Iblis an Asiatic lion. At this moment, all wild Asiatic lions are living in just one forest in India, the Gir Forest. A few years ago their numbers had declined so much that there were less than 100 individual lions remaining. Now the majority of them are living within a protected reserve and numbers have increased slightly to around 400 but this is still awfully low, and itself probably justifies the need well managed zoos. 
I can't help myself adding a few extras, I particularly enjoyed watching the mother and child Greater One Horned Rhino playing together in the mud (this Indian and Nepal rhino is red listed as vulnerable).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.