Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What???

Two sure signs of spring are when my miniature iris bloom (March 17 this year) and when the chipmunks come out of their burrows.  I happened to glance out the window this afternoon and spot this little guy (yes, he's a boy) on the patio so grabbed my camera and shot out.  Surprisingly, he didn't run away, but let me approach to within a few feet before he scurried under the brackets of the patio umbrella stand.  I saw down on the patio and put some peanuts out...and the predictable happened.  Yes, I was nearly overrun in cuteness.  

He didn't seem to know what to do with whole peanuts in the shell as he'd pick them up and then put them back down.  So, I "decanted" the peanuts which seemed to make him very happy.  He immediately set about stuffing peanuts into his cheek pouches before ejecting one to eat, seen here.  I loved the look on his face as it seemed to scream "guilty" to me.  Another funny shot HERE on Flickr.  I think I'll call him "Natcho" since he has a big notch on his right ear, probably the result of mixing it up with another chippie.

Phoebe is still staggering around and confined to sick bay.  We see the vet tomorrow night, so hopefully he can come up with something else to treat her.  I hate seeing her like this, although she seems to feel okay.

I have just gone through the wonderful entries for this week's 200th TinyTuesday Challenge and all I can say is WOW!  Some wonderful entries and well worth a look.  Be sure to browse the journals too as there are so many heartfelt words.  I will be posting my favorites tomorrow so stay tuned.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.