Sometimes it snows in April

I was planning to meet IntoTheHills for breakfast, this morning, but woke to find it was snowing. Snowing! I felt an odd mixture of excitement and anxiety; the late snow seemed like another sign of climate change. I WhatsApp'd IntoThe Hills to warn him I might have trouble getting up to Tebay, finding him to be not *that* impressed (or alarmed) by the lateness of the snow.

Despite the snow settling, I gamely set off to meet him, only to find that both the A65 and then the M6 were absolutely clear and find for driving. Thus I arrived fifteen minutes early, which gave me the time to take some unsatisfying pictures that failed to capture the beauty of the Lake District in the snow. (I've uploaded one as an extra.)

In fact, the best photo I took today, was this one of Tux, who, for once, had found somewhere comfortable to sleep, leaving the snow to younger cats. I think it looks like a painting, possibly a Dutch Master. 

After a thoroughly enjoyable breakfast with IntoTheHills, I took the backroads down to Kendal, passing through Grayrigg, where my then girlfriend and soon to be wife and I lived when I first moved up here in 1990. For most of the journey, I was happy to enjoy the fields and hills looking Narnian in the snow but at some point, as I went over a rise in the road, it stopped abruptly and normal non-snowy (but still lovely) service was resumed. 

****
-11.2 kgs
Reading: 'Jog On' by Bella Mackie (I actually did read a few pages, this evening)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.