stujphoto

By stujphoto

Perfect Symmetry

When I first saw this artificial Christmas tree which is at the back of the Dome restaurant in Edinburgh I was enchanted, probably by its many tiny points of light and myriad colours. I immediately took one or two photos and knew that it would be my Blip of the day. However, when I come to publish next morning I find that despite all my lightroom or photoshop shop skills I could not make it 'sing' or 'zing'. Perhaps Christmas is not supposed to be perfect symmetry, straight lines and curves. It needs to be a bit more messy, ad hoc and rushed to feel real.

Another possibility is that since taking this picture I have learnt that our greyhound, Layla who we thought had a sprain in her front right leg has, in fact, got an inoperable cancer growth in her shoulder which means we are unlikely to have her for much longer. Perhaps any artistic flair I may have, has gone out of the window with this news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.