Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Another sewing machine

This machine is on display on the big pine sideboard in my studio/workshop. It is in much better condition than the derelict one I blipped last Sunday. The reason that it is cared for and cherished is because it has travelled with me over the years.

I was about sixteen when my mother bought the machine off a very elderly lady. So when I acquired it, it was already very ancient. This in the days before the word "vintage" existed and when old objects , if they weren't genuine antiques had no monetary value.

I made most of my clothes on the machine ,including lined suits. I wouldn't know where to start now on my modern electric machine.

Having just researched the machine called "Serata" I have found out that it now qualifies as an antique. I have found a picture and details of an identical model on a vintage sewing machine blog.

Apparently Serata was a trade mark registered by Bernhard Stoewer in 1905 . Stoewer was a German manudacturer from Stettin and they made machines for various distributors.

The machine is a vibrating shuttle machine and is operated by hand by turning the handle to the right of the wheel. I cannot imagine trying to sew anything on this nowadays.

The identical one on the blog was dated by the museum as 1914. I shall have to further investigate my Serata's provenance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.