Ginger Baker

Drum Legends concert, Brighton Dome.

Hard to know what to say about this. So, I'll rattle on - you don't have to read it all!

Started with the three "legends" - Herman Rarebell (real name Erbel), Pete York, and Ginger opening with two numbers. Ginger is however in a pitiable state, having to be helped onstage and onto his seat, with someone stationed right behind him. It was clear he was wielding the sticks, but with no power, just going through the motions. Next to him was an excellent percussionist who was keeping in synch with him and providing the sound.  

Ginger was helped off, Rarebell and the Scorpions banged out some heavy metal.

After an uncertain wait, Ginger played a couple of Cream songs with a good vocalist (but no Jack Bruce), and guitar player (plus the drummer next to him). 

Pete York with a guitarist and a keyboards came on. Spencer Davis Group they were not, though they played some of the tracks.  Recognisable but jazzed up. The problem for me is that I liked them the first time round, and no-one sounds like Steve Winwood.

Rarebell and York were good, York's drum solo the highlight for me, but all in all it felt a bit of a mash-up. I am sad for Ginger, pain though he may be. I never got to see Cream live, and this will be the only time I see him play.

(PS the tickets were £45!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.