From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

I nearly forgot!

Another day closer to the end..... I would describe today's mood as distinctly lacking in enthusiasm. These days are all too frequent at the moment. I guess it's just the treadmill of life. I didn't even have a verbal punch up about my Scottish tenner in McDonalds today. I think the staff were too apathetic to be bothered to question it!

After the morning flew by with the usual flurry of problems and non problems, I thought I'd better drag myself out to Boots for a couple of odds and ends. Horrific!!! The world was full of hoards of people with strained faces who shuffled like zombies round the shops looking for the perfect present or the 'any old thing will do' present. I was so filled with a sense of hopelessness looking at the mobs, I wandered around aimlessly and couldn't think what I went in for, bought a horrible sandwich on the way out and spotted everything I needed as I was fighting my way out of the shop. I was going to take a picture of the piper in his kilt outside Marks and Spencers but he looked more fed up than me so I left him alone. In WH Smiths I nearly bought a 'Merry Christmas Dad' card by mistake and then went back to my dreary desk dejected.

John in the office had kindly bought me some beers for Christmas, one of which is pictured. I inwardly groaned to be honest. Can you imagine how awful it is to get bottles of beer home on a packed bus? I took two anyway and left the other one in the bottom of my locker to pick up at another time in the New Year when I have less to carry.

I wandered through Touchwood and was stopped by a man! 'Hello Roz!' He must have seen by the look on my face that I hadn't a bloody clue who he was. He took of his hat and introduced himself with a flourish. I recognised him then! He is normally deliberately bald and the hat transformed him. I hadn't seen him for a few years anyway. He told me he and his wife had been expecting a baby since Friday. A Christmas baby for them I reckon!

After a few minutes chat, he headed back to the council house and I went to the bus stop where miracle of miracles I got an empty bus! Yippee!

I haven't drunk it yet, but I thought it was appropriately named for today's picture. I nearly didn't bother, forgetting until late today. :-(

Track? Pink Floyd for you - Comfortably Numb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.