Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

More Rolling. That's the answer.

Swimming this morning at 10am. That's every day this week! It's amazing what a carrot a bargain £12 for 12 day pass is!

It was not a good time. Three lanes full of swimming club. Much hilarity with those speed machines again. Many people squashed into last third of the pool. Almost went home again, but didn't. And actually, by the time I left, I did have the whole bit to myself.

I was breathing quite well (just skip over this bit - don't want to bore you silly with my pathetic swimming progress) and even managed whole lengths most times. I'm doing more rolling. That's the answer.

Now I just need to work on my arms. They are pathetic. They're sturdy (ie FAT), but weak. Always have been. That's why I couldn't play tennis (racquet too heavy) but could play squash and badminton. I feel they hardly propel me along. But that's for 2013.

I was thinking of my swimming instructor's prediction in September, that we'd all be swimming by Christmas. Well, I am. And no thanks to him! Thanks actually to the class being cancelled. I doubt any of the other Absolute Beginners in my class are.

JR is up and about. Well, up. And sitting. Checking up on my dusting. She IS feeling better. A friend came to visit this afternoon, so that was the impetus. She's not right, though, as the nibbles and coffees were left to me to deal with. I served coffee in the Wrong Mugs. They didn't seem to notice that I took AGES heating the mince pies.

The oven, which had been turned on already, was not on. It was stone cold. Broken! So I put them in the convection oven - but how to use it? - we only use the microwave function. Could I find the instruction book? No. Pressed buttons and it seemed to be getting warm. Also pressed buttons on the oven, and I think it's because the clock had been switched off (Leo last week, I'll blame) so it started to heat up, things were bleeping and I was running from one to other machine not knowing which to switch off. However, mince pies were eventually served. On the Wrong Plate.

I then accompanied our visitor down town and had a wander round the Winter Wonderland Highland Village. Mobbed. Didn't assault anyone with my tripod, but there were a few I would have liked to.

Couldn't resist the one of the ice rink. Last time I was on an ice rink (c 1972) I cracked a bone in my wrist. This is as near as I'm getting to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.