Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

My husband...

... the cook

In the lead up to Christmas Mr O has been making Christmas cakes (yes- pleural!), chutney, picalilli,and savoury nuts, and is planning the major event of a Christmas Eve buffet, Christmas dinner and a Diamond wedding celebration for 13 next week!

His love of cooking, and take over of responsibility for the family's nourishment took off after he lost his job about 10 years ago, and I started studying in earnest for a PhD. The previous 20 years of cooking (and Christmas') that I managed and supervised seemed to have vanished into the ether, and the family now view my occasional cooking forays with mild, indulgent amusement.

I wonder if I can get him to take on bathroom cleaning, washing, ironing, tidying, hoovering, dusting, clothes putting away, and bill paying with the same enthusiasm...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.