Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

The Barn

The day started out well with Jed & Rowan up and eager to complete their last day of term. Lewis finished his school term yesterday so could have a lie-in today. I returned home from dropping the younger two at school and settle down with a cuppa to watch day time tv....Heir Hunters....oh I wish some long lost relative would leave me a few thousand pounds!!

Lewis surfaced and we were deciding what to do today. There was a knock at the door and my neighbour's daughter was stood there informing me that my rabbits had escaped and were running around her Mum's back garden. I couldn't understand how they'd got out but then I had been cleaning their hutch out just 30 minutes earlier and must've left one of the fiddly latches open. I went into Jean's garden and Crunch was running around, happy as Larry. I called him and he came to me. I picked him up, took him back to the hutch and secured it. I then went back to try and find Rex. Jean's son told me that he'd been trying to stop Rex from going around the front of our houses as we live on a main road and that Rex had just ran off. I felt ill. The next minute I saw Rex running along the path at the back of our houses so I ran outside to try and catch him. Not so easy and certainly not helped by the fact that Rex has been back and forth to the vets these past few days so I'm sure he just thought that I would be either taking him on a horrible car journey to see a horrible vet or that I would be sticking horrible liquid down his mouth...so he wasn't coming anywhere near me. He ran into another neighbour's garden. I could see Bill through the patio doors but his gate had a padlock and I couldn't get into the garden. He threw up his arms because he couldn't find his keys to open the patio doors. Rex was just sat there in front of the patio doors!! Bill found his keys and then Rex ran off....Bill chased him around the garden a fair few times and then expertly picked him up by the scruff of the neck and handed him back to me over the gate. Phew, the relief!! Today my neighbours have been my heroes, especially Bill. It could've all been so different!

After all of the rabbit drama, Lewis and I just decided to head to the local retail park. Lewis's eyes lit up at the thought of shopping....like his Dad...and mine just glazed over!!! He tried out almost every tablet type thing in every shop...not that he had enough money to get one, just looking! He finally bought a game for the Vita console he will be getting at Christmas. I bought a pair of headphones but not the ones that cost a small fortune! Lewis also asked me why Carphone Warehouse was called that.....er, I just think it was because when mobile phones first came out they were seen as "car phones"...it does seem a ridiculous name now I think about it.

We went into Pets At Home to look at the cute pets....we also bumped into a colleague who always makes me laugh. She said that she liked my coat. Everyone at work, including her, bought one of these coats as somebody was selling them cheap!! (Say no more!)

As a final treat on our day out, we went to the barn for our dinner. Lewis had a sandwich, crisps, chocolate brownie and a drink...I had a veggie melt, a scone and a drink. Very nice.

It was difficult to get a picture in the barn because of the solar lights glaring down from the ceiling...but of course the ceiling is the most impressive part of the barn. Lewis is looking very self-conscious here...Mum with her camera again!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.