Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

King James IV - The Falcon's Return

Up to Inverness for the Etape Loch Ness on Sunday. I am travelling up by train, which passes through the Cairngorm National Park (Extra 1), which I manage to snap with my phone. I spend a lot of the time speaking to the woman opposite me who was from Italy, but works in Edinburgh, and is on her way to Stornoway (train to Inverness, bus to Ullapool (not a train as I thought) and then a Sunday morning ferry). I learn she works in cyber security with Central Banks. The reason is that we both have kids who are interested in going in to the computer industry. I don't raise the question as to why she is working in Stornoway for 4 weeks. I am not sure about Cyber Security on the Isle of Lewis.

At Inverness, I get a taxi to the nearby hotel. I know it is close by, but I get a taxi as I have my bike. Fortunately the hotel know a bike event is on, and allows bikes to be stored in your room.

After dumping my stuff, I go down to the Event village to register. I thought I had order an event cycle jersey, but apparently I had not. On my way back to the hotel, I get a snap of Inverness Castle.

In the distance, through the haze, I can see snow on the far off hills. However, those shots don't come out. I attach my race number to my jersey and bike, then head out for coffee. I also wander around town. In the Eastgate shopping centre is a status of James IV, the Warrior King (1488-1513). James IV had a love for falconry. The statue is called The Falcon's Return.

A quiet evening. After dinner, I watch Men In Black II (easy plot to follow) and I go to bed early as I have to get up early on Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.