Walkabout

Oh dear, I’ve just lost what I’d written when I went to change the main photo!

Right, returning to write up...

I’ve been intrigued by this solitary Gormley sculpture and been meaning to visit for ages. I have had it in my mind that it is the introvert from the Crosby family of Gormley’s that has decided to go walkabout and find another place to be.

After doing various chores I wanted to get out and although I hadn’t intended to travel to see it today I ended up here as the lakes were pretty busy. This is the much less frequented southern end of Coniston and there wasn’t a soul around but after a while a chap appeared, strode past the sculpture without a look and took photos of the little quayside. I was pretty sure I recognised him so went up to say hello. It was Ian Tyler, a local mine/quarry historian (extra). I’d met him years ago. He was taking photos for his next book and telling me how all the slate from the Coniston quarries and mines was shipped down the lake to this quay. Amongst the complete pastoral peace peace of today it was pretty hard to imagine the hive of industry that used to be here all those years ago. Ian wasn’t remotely interested in the Gormley but we both reckoned it probably wasn’t a very welcome addition amongst the locals (there were various signs that essentially said ‘go away’).

As I had come out unprepared and seeing as I’d come so far I decided to head over to my favourite pub, not too far away, for a drink and to test my memory.

About 30 years ago I remember we did a walk on beautiful ancient green paths through swathes of hazy bluebell galaxies lit by brightly shining stitchwort stars that eventually orbited round a wonderful example of an old cruck barn.

So, could I find this little spot of heaven again?

Memory is a fascinating thing. In my head I had foreshortened the walk by about a mile, but I was in the right place (and there is a myriad of confusing paths here). The paths were just as green and ancient and beautiful as I had remembered. I kept expecting Hardy-like characters around ever bend with the odd horse and cart/haywain scene thrown in. I found the barn which was just as remarkable as I had remembered (extra). I had no memory of the rough stony sections of path and the blue sea of bluebells and sparkly stitchwort was very lovely but, in reality, very brief..... All a great swirling cosmos of happy memory with stony, longer boring bits removed! Fascinating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.