Raining

It rained for most of the day and it was cold rain too so I did not stay outside for long.However it was long enough to see the first of the baby siskins.They seem to be the first to arrive and they flew, uneasily down ,and landed in the cherry tree,chirping away.
Lots of linnets and goldfinches were feeding on seed heads in the fields and the swallows and horse martens were flying up and down the burn.I wondered if they were collecting mud or just catching flies attracted to the water.
I was surprised to spot the pine marten climbing the trees yesterday.I should not have been surprised as I know they are superb climbers but this is the first time I've seen it happen.She was very quick,just like a squirrel,jumping about in the treetops.Managed to get a quick photo but it was nearly dark and through glass but it's a record of what I saw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.