Northern Exposure

By Northern

Day trippers

I’ve been working hard all winter to qualify as an Orkney Tourist guide. It was a much harder course than I expected and a lot of work on top of my main job. Passed all my exams a few weeks ago and have been out doing my first guided tours over the weekend. Great fun.

Had 2 tours today, the first one was a nature tour which included a short walk to Marwick Head. The 26 guests were lovely, mainly Americans with a sprinkling of Canadians and Australians. They all seemed to enjoy themselves. You might just be able to see them scattered along the cliff in the shot. The second tour was around the Neolithic sites, a much bigger group of 45, was like herding cats but I managed to make it back without losing anyone and they were all smiling and very complimentary.

Not planning on it being a full time job, I already have one of those, but it’s a lot of fun and it is great to be able to show of the islands to visitors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.