Northern Exposure

By Northern

Arigato

This lovely Japanese couple were my guests today for a day tour around the West Mainland of Orkney. The gentleman spoke very good English but the lady didn’t speak much at all. I think some of the tales of Vikings, full of Norse names, poisoned shirts and drinking rules were bewildering to them both but they loved the rugged cliffs and were absolutely delighted by the standing stones.

The lady also had great fun teaching Japanese words, which I’m sure I pronounced terribly. She also, using very dramatic hand movements, managed to explain to me the difference between a straight and a curved katana The other visitors to Skaill house looked a little alarmed at this.

It was a great day. Really enjoying meeting people from all over the world and seeing their reaction to what our islands have to offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.