Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

Glasgow tourists

Glasgow today, on this central belt tour, with my mum, aunt, cousin and gran. Certainly standard Glasgow weather. I have to admit, after a wander around the West End and being rained on a bit I quit my tour guide role and handed over to a proper guide on the open top bus. Determined to have a proper Scottish experience, my cousin wanted to sit up top outside despite the rain. For a few minutes. Then luckily people got off and we could move to the front and be under cover. After that we had lunch (well, mainly liquid...tour guiding is hard) and I suggested a trip up the Lighthouse. Forgetting all four were scared of heights.

I did however get them all to the sixth floor viewing platform which I wasn't sure I would. They didn't appreciate me showing them how stable it was by leaning on the glass. I thought I was being helpful. My aunt and gran were willing to climb the helical staircase (pictured) to the top. I wasn't sure we'd make it, but we did, despite anxiety (aunt) and it being quite a physical challenge (gran). Both glad they did it and once back down my gran was determined to find out how many stairs she'd just climbed. Apparently 162 but I'm waiting for confirmation because none of us thought to count.

Lots of drinks later but home and in bed at a reasonable hour! Maybe I need to consider tour guiding as a new career path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.