The essence of the mess

By SunkeneyedGirl

Gradara. Castle.

Just after we'd been around the mediaeval torture exhibition.
I chickened out of posting the male chastity belt...

EOY meme (part 2)

[19.] Did you meet any online friends?
No. There are a few I really would love to meet up with in the near future. They know this.

[20.] Did you fall in love in 2012?
No.

[21.] How many one night stands?
None.

[22] What was your favourite TV show?
The Thick of It.

[23.] Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
I don't hate anyone. I can have negative sentiments about people, but hate, even when it would be well placed, seems to be a bit beyond me.

[24.] What was/were the best book/s you read?
Troublesome relationship with books this year. I am lacking in concentration, which I really need to sort out this coming year. I loved, loved, loved 'Spring Snow' by Yukio Mishima. And of course, 'Book of Drugs' by Mike Doughty, but then he's something special, so the book was bound to be too!

[25.] What was your greatest musical discovery?
I don't have great musical discoveries. I'm a magpie who just picks up the shinier parts of what people are listening to or recommending and pass on what I like.

[26.] What did you want and get?
Pass.

[27.] What did you want and not get?
The same things I always want and never get. I am nothing if not constant.

[28.] What was your favourite film this year?
Oh, I don't know. I haven't really seen much that wasn't kiddie-orientated. I am waiting for The Child to grow into proper films to see what her tastes are like. Bet we're incompatible!

[29.] What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?
Nothing. I don't think I celebrated it at all. I was old.

[30.] What one thing would have made your year more satisfying?
Not wanting the things I won't get.

[31.] How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?
If it fits and is black...

[32.] What kept you sane?
A few friends, who know who they are, my GP, and my local pharmacist.

[33.] Which celebrity did you fancy the most?
I don't really fancy celebrities.

[34.] Which political issue stirred you the most?
I have tried to avoid politics this year.

[35.] Who did you miss?
The usual suspects.

[36.] Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned this year?
This world has a few (very few) funny, clever, sympathetic, warm and wonderful people in it and if you are truly lucky, some of them will find you. Recognise them and you won't regret it.

X

(EOY part 1)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.