From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

There's a river

Today was a very lazy day, although I did drag myself up the road with a loaf of bread for my new best friends. I had my loaf of Warburtons (extra thick for toasting - can anyone imagine seagulls waiting patiently for the toast to pop up?) under my arm when Mom ran down and insisted I put it in a bag and not walk up the road with bread on show! Good grief!

It takes me back to when I was little and Mom sent me out to Pat's Pantry (a little corner general store) to get loo rolls. The lady behind the counter wrapped the two-pack in brown paper and handed it to me tightly wrapped and said 'It looks better like that, dearie. It's not very nice walking up the road with toilet rolls on display.'
I went back home and handed the package to the outstretched hand round the side of the bathroom door. Good job I went straight home eh? I wonder how long Dad would have sat there? Anyway, I have a thing about never running out of loo roll now and have 12 packs stashed all over the house, here in Ayr and in Birmingham.

I think I will soon be developing a complex about carrier bags! Do you think the gulls care? Hmmmmm. Anyway, I have spared you. There were some beautiful seagulls up there today but I left them alone camera wise.

Here we have a typical view of the River Ayr from the old bridge by TK Maxx. It was a very dull day but at least I was able to get rid of my bread and get back home before the rain started again.

Track - a nice one from Peter Green - There's a river..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.