mef13

By mef13

In the picture

My. How photography has changed in what seems a few short years. All you need do is point your camera, or phone at your intended subject, click the shutter button and instantly see your photo on a tiny built-in screen and if you want an actual print, one of these machines will deliver it in minutes.
Which is all a far cry from the early days of taking pictures that I was brought up in.
My first fuzzy photos were taken on mum and dad’s box Brownie, but it was sufficient to get me interested, although I aspired to something more adventurous in a camera. And so began a lifelong hobby, trough a series of cameras, each one of which I regarded as a little better than the last.
Indirectly it was how I began my career in journalism; I still remember the glee of having my first photo published in my local newspaper. Even more the unexpected delight of receiving a Postal Order for 10 shillings and sixpence (old money) for my photo.
Times have changed dramatically, but I still carry a camera wherever I go. But doesn’t everyone, with sophisticated mobile phones sporting cameras far more advanced than that first box Brownie, or even the camera which earned my first half a guinea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.