IrvingFlashman

By IrvingFlashman

The Day After

I woke this morning feeling like I didn't even have the energy or will to get out of my bed. Thankfully, a friend came to the rescue and together we arranged a day of keeping each other company.

The parents went out for a day at the races and I gladly stayed behind - rain, drunk people and betting are definitely in my list of 'Things I Hate'.

A large portion of my day was spent feeling rather sorry for myself because, foolishly, I pinned my hopes for something on a man who, inevitably, let me down. He's done his best to atone for his sins, but that doesn't eradicate the hurt.

Stephanie kindly made me a beautiful dinner and played games with me this evening. After she left I settled on the sofa with a little chocolate and bubbly to enjoy a peaceful evening of television. Of course, I was repeatedly interrupted and then joined by drunken parents and friends. I eventually returned to my now-cold spot on the sofa, watched my small piece of television and sloped up off to bed, leaving my father snoring on the sofa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.