Cake!

When was the Queen's Silver Jubilee? 2002? Somewhere 'round there. At that point, I'd been living on Harling Bank for a couple of years, long enough to know that most of my neighbours were left-leaning republicans but also that they'd be up for a party.

I was chair of the PTA at the school at the end of the road and three of my neighbours were also on the committee so we were able to obtain use of the playground for what were ostensibly monarchist celebrations. Man, it was a great afternoon and evening. (My favourite part was when one of the boys, Joe, who must have been in his mid-teens at the time, played an extended bass improvisation, while one of my older neighbours, Maurice, played recordings of birdsong. Honestly, it was fantastic.)

The following year, we decided to have another street party, which we held in the back gardens of my house and that of my next-door neighbour, and it's been an annual event ever since. During the period while I was living away from the house, the party moved a few doors down the road but it still takes place every year.

In addition to food for barbecuing and something to drink, everyone takes along a cake. And this was my effort, today.

****
-11.5 kgs
Reading: [choosing a book]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.