Whittington

Over the last few weeks, since the just before the lockdown began, Dan and I have been for a walk every day, usually between three and five miles, with one long walk most weeks.

At first we stuck to routes that I was familiar with from running but one of the dividends from this routine has been the number of walks we've discovered (which, in turn, has given me more running routes).

The route we took today is an old running route of mine, first shown to me many years ago by a neighbour, a chap called Paul Percy. He was a keen runner and at our annual street barbecue he was telling me about this route and in the end invited me to run it with him the next morning.

Now, I don't really suffer from hangovers particularly but I do remember that run being particularly hard work; I was dehydrated and I struggled to keep up with Paul who bounced along next to me, full of chat and cheer. 

I don't run it often because it can get very muddy, which makes for an unsatisfying run. However, after weeks of sunny weather and very little rain, it's very pleasant for both running and walking. The photo is from one of my favourite parts of the walk, across the fields between Whittington and the Lune.

****
-10.2 kgs
Reading: 'Underland' by Robert Macfarlane

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.