'We Play In Time'/The Reclamation Room

The Minx is off to a concert in Manchester, this afternoon, so once we'd been to Groom to have what's left of my hair trimmed, and had breakfast at a rather nice new coffee place in Chorley - although, guys, poached eggs served with cranberry sauce is not "the future" - and said farewell and I'd been for a swim, I had the rest of the day to myself. 

So I decided that I would take the opportunity to get across to see Simon's current exhibition, 'We Play In Time', at the Weavers* Factory in Uppermill, which is about a 45 minute drive, going out along the M62 and then south through lanes that snake around and over the moors. On a day when it wasn't pouring with rain, it might have been a beautiful drive although in truth I enjoyed it despite the weather. 

I found somewhere to park and then wandered down into the town stumbling across the Weavers** Factory en route. I must admit that I had hoped to start my visit with a cup of tea and a Twix, as advertised on the board outside, but it turned out there was nowhere to sit so I started to look at the photos. I had barely seen the dozen on the ground floor when I heard a familiar voice: it was Simon!

He'd said he'd be at the exhibition all day, yesterday, as it was the Whit Friday Brass Band Competition, which is a big deal in these parts, so I'd assumed he wouldn't be here, today, but he was, and accompanied by his friend Andy who he's mentioned to me many times but whom I've never actually met before.

So, the three of us looked round the rest of the exhibition together and then decided to find somewhere to go for a coffee (I was very hungry by this time). We were recommended to try the Reclamation Rooms, which we found wonderfully quickly. There's something about Uppermill that is easily navigable!

And that's where we spent the next hour or so, treated to coffee and cake by Simon, who'd just sold another print. Hooray!

*apostrophe twitch
** what is wrong with people?

****
-11.4 kgs
Reading: 'Pauline Boty: Pop Artist And Woman' by Sue Tate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.