Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cafe crawling

Another sunny warm(ish) day - we're being spoiled! I was persuaded out for a walk with JR and Archie as we were heading to a new(ish) local cafe we've heard good things about. The others went via The Meadows, but I toddled along the shortest route, though I sat down and admired the scenery three times. It was quite far (not really).

It's a super wee cafe with a great menu - though not gluten free - so I fell off the gf wagon a wee bit. We shared sweetcorn fritters with a creamy aioli, charred cos lettuce and various greens. It was really delicious, though not part of my strict diet...

I'd passed another neighbourhood cafe and popped in, because I knew it was ALL gluten free. A whole bench of fabulous looking takeaway gf breads too! We called in on the way back. Two very friendly chaps out front - they were happy to pose for a photo, though when they obligingly crouched down, their spectacularly tattooed arms (all four of 'em) were hidden. It looks so incongruous!

I tried coconut milk in a coffee without sugar! and I didn’t like it at all - now I know I prefer soya milk. I helped it down with little bits of JR's (gf) chocolate brownie.

A great morning discovering local dog friendly cafes. We will return.

NO tennis on yet!

PS Scotland/Argentina game on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.