Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Barking? Moi?

A very dreich day - the haar was low, the mizzle was constant, but JR and Archie went up the hill and got rather wet. Home for a nice warm bath, blow dry and brush (Archie). JR just had a shower.

Nothing for it on such a horrible day, but to go to the cinema. We hadn't rushed to see Rocketman, but a friend recently enthused SO much about it - she'd go and see it again - that we felt we should go.

A trip on the bus and the tram to get to the Omni Centre was not appealing, but the nearest Odeon has the Film Festival on. Then I realised it was on at the Odeon in our nearest shopping centre cinema. Bingo! No getting wet, free parking and no walking.

Quite enjoyed it, though at two hours, it's just toooo long! I'm not keen on musicals, in fact, I wouldn’t knowingly go to one, so when the eight year old Elton suddenly bursts into song, warbling ‘I want luuuurrrrrvvvvv!', and his mum, dad and nan all had a verse, I thought oh no, this isn’t for me! However, I stayed, and despite the frequent song and dance numbers that vaguely fitted in with the story, I did quite enjoy it. The chap who plays Elton was brilliant. And the whole production was spectacular.

So Archie was to be left at home for the afternoon.. we don’t do this much, and we think he may bark a bit. We always put one blind down so that he can’t see anyone passing by the gate. Here he is, listening to my lecture about how he was to behave, giving me his assurances.

Came home to be met by a crazed dog running round with his toys (he always does this when we he's been left alone for a wee while), but he assured us there had been no barking.

We were surprised to see on the TV evening news that there had been flooding in Edinburgh! Not where we were. Better weather coming tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.