Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Summer?

Gosh, I feel SO much better today! I walked up to the doctor without stopping, and I was even quite fast (for me, though not for normal folk). I think I must be over that infection of a couple of weeks ago. If that's what caused the malaise, then it really knocked me for six.

The day started cool and cloudy, but by midday, it was sunny and actually quite hot! Archie and JR went up the hill, and then we all went to the local cafe. I wanted to try a flat white with soya milk. I liked it. And there was no sugar in it! JR had a delicious looking scone. Here's Archie with his begging eyes. Mind you, I wasn’t much better, but I tried not to look. When I set my mind to it, I can resist almost everything. Though maybe not their blueberry muffins, which thankfully weren’t on today.

JR then went off shopping, and I felt so fit (!) that I took Archie down to the Meadows for another walk. Well, I got the bus round, and walked back. And I didn’t stop or sit down. Even our street, which is on a long long slope, I managed, no bother. (5,059 steps).

It was such a warm afternoon/evening, that we sat out in the back garden reading. Tea was also eaten in the sunshine! I could get used to this!

Archie has been wearing his anti-bark collar in the garden, as he inevitably barks hysterically when the neighbours come out to be in the garden. So anti-social! Not now. He just walks over to see them, and they have a wee bag of treats for him. So much more pleasant, this quiet Archie!

Could this be the start of summer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.