Jerryseadog

By Jerryseadog

I must go down to the sea again....

Newgale beach this afternoon was popular with dog walkers, but I still get a feeling of space and awe at the power and beauty of the sea.

This ship was bathed in light riding at anchor in St Bride's Bay waiting to pick up a cargo of refined oil from Milford Haven. To the right are the islands of Middlehome and Skomer, which after Skokholm is my favourite island.

I was brought up in Hertfordshire and Cambridgeshire, miles from the sea, but holidays were always coastal and I have spent most of my life on ships or flying at low level over the sea and living close by. My great-grandpa was a ship designer from a long line of Pembrokeshire shipwrights so it felt right to put down roots here after many years of itinerant life around the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.