Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Looking Back (St.Andrews to Edinburgh)

Sunday sees me cycle back to Edinburgh, after a good breakfast that is. No rain is forecast, and it is sunny as I set off west out of St. Andrews taking the same route in reverse to Wester Balgedie, mostly. It's a long climb, especially in to the wind which is now a westerly. 

It's a constant climb then a descent to Pitscottie, followed by another slight up hill through Ceres to Craigrothie. The clouds are getting dark as I head down the steep hill to Chance Inn. I cycle around Cult's Hill, where I take Extra 1. There's also a light shower of rain, so I don a waterproof jacket. Then it's through Burnturk and down the steep hill to Freuchie. As I pass through Freuchie, I overtake a couple of people on TT bikes. I think they have run out of energy.

I cycle on to Falkland, where I take an off rad route to Strathmiglo, then on to Dryside road. Even though there is a westerly, yesterday's long descent is a long climb, but not as bad as it could be. Soon I am at the top by the two bladed wind turbine. Three dips in the road and I am back at Wester Balgedie.

As I know Loch Leven's Larder will be packed (it's Father's Day in the UK), I head south through Scotlandwell to the B9097 to the RSPB Vane Farm, where I have lunch at the café. After lunch I take Extra 2 showing cyclists on the Loch Leven Trail.

After lunch I carry on west, then north to join National Cycle Route 1 just south of Kinross. I want to evaluate the route. It heads south, and over Cleish Hill. the steepest route. Quite difficult at first, then I remember the point where the two cyclists I snapped yesterday were, and stopped to take the main blip shot. After that the rest of the climb is ok. As I get to the top, a heavy rain shower arrives and rains as I head down the other side. I'm glad I have my jacket.

I follow NCN 1 down the B915, and turn off on to a minor road. As I head downhill, I nearly miss the turn on to a cycle path, which takes a more direct route to Dunfermline. At the other end I opt for the road as the path is bitty, and I follow the road route through Dunfermline. Eventually the houses clear, I take Extra 3. Traffic is heavy on the new Queensferry crossing.

The rest of the ride in to Edinburgh is very familiar to me. Down to Inverkeithing, over the old Forth Road Bridge (very quiet now there's no traffic), then through to Dalmeny and cycle path to Cramond Brig. Then normal cycle paths back in to Edinburgh and then home.

The whole route can be seen at Relive here.

A nice family evening meal out at Pizza Express.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.