Birthday breakfast

After dinner at The Royal, last night, we popped into Booths on the way home to buy stuff for the morning. Abi's preferred breakfast was, on this occasion, watermelon. I thought it might make a nice photo for today.

But, actually, what I notice is the plate, chipped and knackered as it is. (It has a number of siblings, some larger, in a similar state.)

During my first marriage, my wife and I enjoyed just one weekend away together. We went up to Glasgow and I remember that we visited the Necropolis and also the House for an Art Lover. At the train station there was a Whitakers shop and in there we saw a set of six side plates and six main plates, which we bought as an odd memento of our trip. (We had four daughters, so it made sense.)

When we split up, the plates were left behind so I kept them. I think there are three or four of each size left, now. Sure they're knackered but they still do their job and they're staying in my kitchen.

****
-11.0 kgs
Reading: 'Pauline Boty: Pop Artist And Woman' by Sue Tate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.