Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Borthwick Castle

A cool morning for the bike ride. I Was expecting it to be warmer, but I soon don a jacket as I head downhill. I follow the Innocent Railway path to Brunstane,  then on to Musselburgh. I stop just before Fisherrow to take a shot of the Mussel sculpture which has had the work fences removed.

I cycle on the coast road as far as Prestonpans, where I turn inland and up to Tranent. I decide to head to Midlothian, so I cycle to Ormiston, then to Pathhead. It's quite warm now, so the jacket can come off, just in time for the climb from Ford to the B6372. The road climbs as heads to Gorebridge. Instead of heading on to Temple, I head south to Borthwick as I haven't been there for a while. On the way down I stop to take a shot of Borthwick Castle, the Scottish Borders railway is in the foreground.

From Borthwick, it's time to head home through North Middleton, Middleton, taking the back roads to Gladhouse Reservoir, over Mount Lothian, then north through Loanstone and Auchendinny on to the Seafield Moor Road to Hillend.

The whole ride can be seen at Relive here.

In the afternoon, my partner and I get the bus to Morningside. Then we walk from Maxwell Street down to Tollcross visiting the charity shops that are open. All that exercise means no excuse required for a cake with my afternoon coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.