Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

My, How Furry You are!

Sitting in the conservatory for breakfast and I spotted this Red Admiral in the corner of the frame of the patio doors.  My first thought was that it had been caught in a spider's web.  it seemed an unusual place to see one stay for any length of time.

I checked it out and came to the conclusion that it had found one of the first parts of the garden to be in full sun.  I grabbed the camera which fortunately had a macro lens attached.  I'm really taken by how much hair can be seen on the body and at the margins of the wings.  A quick read suggests this is the start of the period when they are most common in the UK.  In my ignorance I had not realised they migrate from Europe and are only summer visitors.  Perhaps I need to read up a little more about our invertebrates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.