Protected

Finally found all relevant papers in time for registration of my mother’s death in Haddington. We did have a copy or her birth certificate from 1920 but I even tracked down the original in a folder keeping it protected. The paper is now so thin.

The questions confirming my grandparents’ last employment before retirement were not ones I was expecting. Fortunately my parents’ marriage certificate helped out. I never met my maternal grandfather as he had died before I was born and have only fleeting memories of a lady dressed always in black on the one or two occasions we went back to Ireland when I was very young.

arrived back home to find a lovely bunch of flowers sent by friends. It came packaged in cardboard (and some plastic) with the chrysanthemum flower heads protected. As soon as each cover was removed they opened out into a lovely display

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.