Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A nice surprise at the supermarket

Well, after all the excitement of yesterday, I feel a DND (Do Nothing Day) coming on. This was confirmed this morning when Henry and I went out for a walk. It was WORSE than ever. I could hardly walk against the wind. Visibility was only metres because of the sea spray, every time I took out my camera it got soaked, so after Henry did his business we turned back.

I did pop my head in hopefully to the lovely Italian restaurant on the front, but dogs were not allowed. It was busy. And dry. And warm. And smelled of coffee. *sigh*

The other day after we had been in the sea spray, I came to realise how horrible it was. My boots took a LOT of cleaning to come right, and Henry had to have a shower. It was brown sticky stinky stuff. I was pleased at the way Henry just hung his head down and walked into the shower, when he realised the inevitable.

Also meant to say, that we went to the supermarket to get stuff for Sunday lunch. I was rather reluctant, having lasted about five minutes last time in their 'festive atmosphere' of screechy yelly muzak.

But lo and behold! There was no muzak!! I thanked various navy jacketed employees. Then I spotted a man in a suit with a label. Matt. Assistant Manager. I thanked him. Profusely. He agreed it was awful and they'd pulled the plug on it.

I like to think my voice of complaint was the nail that broke the camel's back. Or the final straw in the coffin. Maybe not.

JR is still coughing. But declares she's better. But this kind of weather is not the best to go and try her out. Although if you go to the shops there tends to be no sea spray and not so much wind! I might even see James, whom I stalked last time.

I think I will settle down and read a book today. I must say, it's a nice flat to be stuck in, with the bonus of a wee dog to take up most of the sofa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.