Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Never shut yourself out of your flat!

Well, an eventful day. A bit too eventful for my liking, actually. This photo was taken in a lull in the morning, while I was trying to catch up on blips, but Henry was suggesting a walk.

Our friends arrived and I went out to meet them at the car. Then, to get back in the main door, I rang the flat bell. JR, for some reason (perhaps side effects of the cough mixture) came and opened the front door, but the door to the flat slammed shut.

I did not have the keys. They were inside!! With the boiling potatoes. Panic stations!

I popped downstairs. Yes, they had a key to the flat. But it turned out it was only a key to the front door, not the flat door. I should have waited before hugging him!

Poor people, they were tying to have lunch with their two wee kids, and I kept appearing, asking them to ring Henry's mum, then asking them to ring again. They invited us down there for lunch instead, four of us, and had the spuds not been boiling vigorously, it was quite a good idea.

I had just had the front window open, and R was quite ready to climb up the fence and wall to get in, but fortunately for him, I had been sensible and locked it again.

Eventually, what seemed like a long time, but wasn't, Henry's auntie came, with a sleeping baby in the car. Thank you H!!! And the spuds were just right - fortunately I had put too much water in.

I tell you, the champagne did not touch the sides!

After lunch, our visitors, V and R, came for a breezy walk along the promenade with Henry and I. V saw a famous actor, but couldn't put a name to the face. I couldn't put a name to the back of his head.

Heather Mills' vegetarian cafe was pointed out to me. I think I saw her here last time. Or was it Katie Price?

After our walk, Henry went for a lie down, JR joined us to pop up to our favourite cafe. The cakes are tremendous. I had a huge slice of hummingbird cake, which is as nice as it sounds.

We had a great catch up with V & R. I first met V while housemaiding in Queenstown in NZ in 1974. A very very long time ago now...

I need to go and lie down. I can't handle too much excitement in one day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.