Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Raptor over Braidburn Valley Park

Sunday morning is quite breezy for my bike ride. I decide to head to West Lothian so the ride home is wind assisted. Doesn't start too good. Light rain and a very cool breeze. Rain doesn't last for long, as I head to Roseburn and take the cycle path out of Edinburgh.

From Cramond I head on to the Carlowrie Road to Kirkliston, andthen to Winchburgh (soon to become as new town), then turning off, and taking back road through Faucheldean to Ochiltree. A bit of light rain here, thankfully I hadn't taken my jacket off

From Ociltree I head south to the A70. down to Dechmont. Quite a tricky decent due to a crosswind. I head to Uphall, then Uphall Station, through Pumpherston to East Calder.

I head up Leyden Road instead of going through Kirknewton. More rain showers as I head up to the A70, which become more persistent as I get closer to the Pentland Hills. At the junction with the A70, I stop to take a gel. As I do so, a very wet looking cyclist passes me. I head in to Edinburgh, and turn off to head for Balerno though Glenbrook, then I rejoin the A70 down through Currie and Juniper Green. To get home, I turn off the road, and take the Water of Leith path to Woodhall, and then through Colinton. the rain has stopped and the sun has come out. Too hot for the coat. Nice ride though.

The whole ride can be seen at Relive here.

In the afternoon I walk down to Morningside. The clouds have cleared, and there's blue sky. As I walk down there's a bird of prey hovering in the sky above the park. Not a very clear shot though. I wish I had my big camera. I walk down to Edinburgh Bicycle, then to the supermarket to get some things for tea (and dessert but I forgot we had fruit for a fruit salad). Not bad for the last day for June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.