A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

From The Bridge

This afternoon, I met Jacqui at the border and we scooted into Gib to watch some of the Island Games, hosted here. Quite how that happens, I don't know since Gibraltar is not an island, but there you are. Details, I suppose.

We saw some great long jumpers and high jumpers and then went to the pool for some relays and so on. After each race, there was a medal ceremony, where each island had its own "anthem" played amid much pomp and circumstance.

I had not heard of Aland, or one or two of the other competitor islands, but I was wondering what anthem the Isle of White would have had played, had they won something. Which they didn't. Not while we were there anyway.

Jersey, Guernsey and the Faroe Islands seemed to be the main winners in the pool, with the Caymans doing well on the track.

The new stadium, track and pool are at the top of the rock, directly beneath Jacqui's office window, so afterwards I was given the VIP tour of the new Port Authority building.

The highlight, rather literally, was going to the tower, which serves the same purpose as the tower at an airport, only more slowly. It's all very high tec and looks like the bridge of the Starship Enterprise.

The views were fantastic, but as the sun was rapidly setting, my efforts to capture the vista have not turned out quite as I had hoped.

I have added a few extras to remember the day by. A day that started rather wonderfully with Duke and I watching a dolphin swimming past as we were taking our morning walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.