Lichfield Festival

I’ve managed to get to two of the Young Musician Recitals at this year’s Lichfield Festival. On Monday, I saw Lauren Zhang, a brilliant pianist, at a venue new to me, and today I went to Wade Street Church to hear a flautist from Hong Kong.

My blip is of the Wade Street Church, today’s lovely modern venue.

Sirius Chau (what a marvellous name), played a selection of French pieces for flute and piano and a modern English piece, Jonathan Dove’s amazing “Magic Flute - Dances”.

Unusually, Sirius introduced the pieces with charm and confidence. The Dove piece “a fun item ” is based on “tunes” from The Magic Flute. It was brilliant.

The final piece was a short Concertino, written by a French composer who had broken up with her flautist boyfriend. She made it fiendishly difficult, as an act of revenge. And that turned out to be the perfect recipe :-)

Enjoy your weekend, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.