Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

A man with a can

This is where you’ll find me rather late at night
Pottering in my garden by the artificial light
In case that you are thinking I should be up before the courts
I’m not naked (from the waist down), I’m just wearing skimpy shorts
I really haven’t taken on the Full Monty movie pattern
Since to be a proper gardener you have to keep your hat on

Maud and The Rogster dropped in on the way home from Whitstable. That was the highlight of an otherwise domestic day. I made the.best.hummus.ever - served with artisan vegan crackers from Borough Market - and we had a good catch up. They look very stylish the pair of them although The Rogster and I did confess to both buying clothes from Mr Byrite back in the 1970s. You had to be there. It was as tacky as the decade itself. I’ve researched a bit of history in a footnote.

The weather has improved so I did have to get the watering cans out tonight. I have two - a green and a red. I aspire to a yellow one as well so that I can play traffic lights.

Funny day.

POSTSCRIPT (from a 2008 fashion industry web page still hanging around the web):

Mr Byrite may have been the butt of jokes, but out of its ashes grew Blue Inc, whose managing director is having the last laugh with growing sales and expansion plans.

Standing in the entrance of Blue Inc’s store in Harrow, Middlesex, a navy blue T-shirt with a bold slogan catches the eye. Emblazoned across the chest are the words “I’m not a gynaecologist, but I’ll have a look.” Similar laddish idioms feature on garments throughout the store.

Blue Inc was founded on the roots of the famed discounter, dreamt up by Mr Byrite’s owners, the Levy family, whose retail lineage stretches back to 1912 when A Levy & Son opened a hat shop in Stratford, east London.

A chain of haberdashery stores was established, which eventually evolved into Mr Byrite. The name disappeared when the three sons of its owner Barry Levy – Jonathan, Robert and Daniel – took control of the operation and ditched the discount image in favour of the Blue Inc name and a new brand-led offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.