Hidden treasures

After a magnificent opera last night, it was time to relax and enjoy the coastal towns of Puglia. The three we explored are all in the Bari area and are relative newcomers to tourists from overseas. Monopoli, as in my blip, is at an early stage of development and I hope it resists the trendy upgrading and retains its beauty and history.

There are castles, wonderful houses, views, churches, and we stumbled on a couple of very stylish, typically Italian weddings.

My extra shows a more established tourist resort, Polignano a Mare. It had that same squashed feel that Dubrovnik has suffered, and the rocks and beach with the little people made me smile.

Our third Town was Conversano, quiet and lovely.

None of the three were mentioned in my old Lonely Planet, Italy. It’s a matter of watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.