The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Sweet Sixteen

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Today was the Eldest Mini Princess’s sixteenth birthday. She can now legally leave home and get married. so like good parents, we have packed her bags and found her a husband (eBay is marvellous)!

Ok, maybe not. After presents, we had meals of baked loveliness - pancakes for breakfast and birthday cake for lunch. The cake, a vegan chocolate cake, was made by The Youngest Mini Princess and was amazing. She had piped ‘16’ on it which was very sweet but then amusingly fessed up that it she had originally done it with a ‘15’!

We wandered up to George Square in the afternoon. Being the impromptu and flexible family we are, we just booked tickets for the next available show - DNA, which was dance and acrobatics. Lucky for The Mini Princesses, the next show wasn’t burlesque!

Watching bendy, strong and athletic people do amazing things with their bodies is very captivating. I’m pretty sure the only thing I could have done in the entire routine was a forward roll. Although not into a standing position. I’m not double-jointed. I would have been stuck on the stage, rocking like an upturned crab which might have been (marginally) less impressive. I think the problem is that I can’t practise at home because Murphy would jump all over me. That’s pretty much the only reason I’m not a gymnast. It bloody is, right.

We went to The Urban Fox for dinner. The YMP declared that it was “gross” that they had fox burgers on the menu and we had to explain that they are not made of actual foxes!

It was a happy day. I do love my daughters’ birthdays.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.