Spiders continued

A week or so ago I noticed some very tiny larvae on the egg boxes in my moth trap - obviously hatched from eggs laid by one of the moths that had spent the night there. With no idea what they were I placed them in a pot with some apple leaves to see what would happen.
Luckily for me they decided to eat the apple, and today I was looking at them trying to decide what they might be when I realized I had imported this  tiny  bright green spider with the last batch of apple leaves I had picked.
I was delighted as I realized this little spider was Nigma walckenaeri, a little spider I have wanted to see for ages.
It is tiny (approx 5mm in length) and until recently found mainly in London and surrounding counties, and may well have been originally imported visa Kew gardens.  It can be found from May to November and is very fond of Lilac leaves, which explains a lot as the apple tree was in a pot beneath the old lilac tree

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.