Goats R Us

This very pregnant nanny goat and three or four smaller versions...pigmy goats?...live in a field at the bottom of our road that  I pass just about every day. Today she was right next to the fence and I had some little dog treats in my pocket so I pulled off the road and walked back there. She did her very best to get her nose through the wire fence*, but it was cleverly designed so that once she succeeded, she couldn't open her mouth! She finally stood on her hind legs and climbed the fence with her forelegs.I offered her the dog treats and she very gently took them from my hand. She had a little trouble finding one that dropped on the ground. I don't think their distinctive eyes with their rectangular pupils can see that well....

I apparently can't either as I didn't notice the DO NOT FEED sign on the fence until I got back in the car...uh oh....

Ozzie has now decided to boycott getting into the car. We had tried to get him in the car to take him to the lake but he was having none of it...even with the offer of the treats which I wound up giving to the goat. He just doesn't have the coordination or strength in his back legs to allow him to jump in, although he can still manage the steep driveway on foot. 

More fiddling with the furniture on the deck and I think a plan is falling into place with the aid of a life size newspaper replica of a table top. Another day of observation of the path of the sun over the umbrella should do it. Then I will have to order a table since, even though it is not even the middle of August yet, the stores have none to left view.

*extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.