Words Fail Me

Well, almost.  But before I say anything disrespectful to the Umpqua Bank, I will just say that this would not be my choice for a sculpture outside my bank, if I owned one.

A little research turned up some information on this bank.  It was formed in 1953, in Canyonville, Oregon, with six employees who wanted to create a means for cashing payroll checks.  The name Umpqua dates back to the early 1800s when the Coquille tribe of Native Americans inhabited the area.  The name comes from the Native American term for "place along the river"

Okay, now that I've paid the proper respect to the Umpqua tribe and the industrious people who created the bank in its name, I will say that something went terribly wrong in their choice of sculpture.  After they picked the ugliest one possible, they proceeded to paint it a day-glow pink.  I'm sure it has some meaning, but in all honesty, I think they could have made much more meaningful choice, but that's just my opinion. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.