Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Birthday Day out in London

A little lie in until 7am, then up and at them. Opened cards and presents, or at least the kids did! Lovely bracelet from the kids made by the multi- talented Blipper Life as it happens. On the 09.30 train to London and off to Shaftesbury Avenue to see Room on a Broom. It was a good as I remembered, better in fact because this time W was old enough to really enjoy it too.

From there we wandered our way to Covent Garden and the very busy Transport Museum. What I love about this museum is its free cloakroom. A small thing it may seem, but it means I don't have to worry about carry around three coats and the ergo on top of my bag and keeping track of two small people, one of whom thought that because he had been before he could keep wandering off to see the 'next' thing before C and I were ready.

We had a picnic lunch on a floor in a corner of the cafe area, you are actually allowed your own food in that area, but there were no free seats. After that we followed the stamp trail, both kids had a go at driving a tube and a bus and C asked me if I thought Daddy would look after W one day so that I could bring her back and she could "learn some more Mummy?"

A coffe and some strawberry milk later we wandered up past the Royal Opera House to see the statue of the Little Ballerina, I wanted to blip C and it, but there were some fairly obnoxious french in the way, so that will wait for another day. At the top of Endell Street we bobbed into Evans Cycles for some advice on a new bike for me. Then we all walked from there to near Russell Square (a fair walk for the boychild who is not known for his love of walking) to get a bus to KC. We had the top front seats which is a rare treat and both of them 'drove' us to the British Library.

Once safely off the bus we headed to Pizza Express for tea where we were met by Daddy (surprise, well at least for the kids) and then two tired munchkins and to full adults headed home at way past bedtime.

A very lovely birthday. Definately one of the best I have had in years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.