The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Imperfect

Steve got these from the farm shop. He's driving again, yay!

The blue jug makes me remember: in the summer of 2015, my mother formally moved out of her house in Argyll, which she had in fact moved out of some time before, so that my sister could move in. She didn't actually take anything, but appeared shocked and distressed that my sister wanted to change anything about the house. At the time of her wedding in November 2015, she asked for the blue plastic jug, for serving drinks to guests. As it was cracked, and had already been given to me for the perfect sunflower vessel, my sister was left ad- libbing.

Meanwhile, the saga of the house rumbles on. I am not especially looking forward to my forthcoming visit to Scotland with my sister Thereand There. The house still isn't ready for a tenant, because another major hurdle had to be overcome. It will be good to see the family, of course. TML and I fly to Glasgow on Sunday, she from Heathrow and I from Bristol.

Today I walked to town. A violent downpour was circumnavigated by a visit to the Emmaus charity shop. They have a nice little sofa, but it's the wrong colour, and too expensive. I have made the single bed in the dining room look a bit more sofa-like, while I wait for a free sofa to materialise on Freegle.

CleanSteve is having a birthday picnic in the countryside on Wednesday, so we've started to ramp up the preparations. CS says the weather is improving. I do hope so!

PS I forgot to say that this title, Imperfect, is inspired by the appearance of the sunflower and the fact that I've just finished reading 'Perfect' by Rachel Joyce. Powerful read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.