rower2012

By rower2012

Pretty Woman

My blip today of this beautiful lady is in response to a request from Nanzy, following on from my blip yesterday of my old Mamiya RB67 camera. Nanzy asked to see something shot with this camera - which incidentally will soon be going to a new owner.

Starting yesterday afternoon, we searched through dozens of albums, filing boxes and filing cabinet drawers, looking for my favourite prints I knew I had from the Mamiya. I must give due credit to Paladian for this morning finding the old album I wanted. I knew I had it filed away somewhere, containing some of my best London period 8 x 10 prints from the early to mid '70s!

With great relief I pulled this photo out of the album sleeve so that I could re-photoghraph it as my blip image - being originally taken with my Mamiya camera. I thought about scanning the photo but I am not sure how blipfoto regards photo scans as a blip of the day, even if it is scanned on the day of the blip? Maybe skillyjeff or another blip member can answer that question?

It all looks a bit dated now, but I can assure you, back in August 1973, when it was taken, this extremely pretty girl was dressed in the height of fashion - except perhaps for her pinny, which she obviously did not wish to change.

In the '70s I mostly only used the Mamiya for portraits and a few landscapes when I had time. Even PRETTIER when enlarged.
Or listen to the track Pretty Woman as you look at other blips today.

The image was taken at the house of a great friend of mine Alan Sievewright, in Hyde Park Square, London. I would set up part of his house as my London studio each August/September from 1970 through to 1980. I can't remember this girl's name, as I carelessly did not write it on the proof sheet, and my paperwork is long gone. However I have a feeling that she was connected with a Sunday morning religious TV programme in England at that time.

It is hard to image that this pretty young lady would now be approximately 65 years of age! It is a chance in millions, but if anyone in UK does recognise her, please let me know.

I could write a book about Alan, but that would be another story on its own. Suffice to say that he numbered Marlene Dietrich, Ava Gardner and Maria Callas amongst his close friends, and produced a TV doco on Callas several years ago. Although I had the good fortune to meet Ava twice thanks to Alan, I was not in a position to take a photo of her!

You can see yesterday's blip of the MAMIYA here, and it has a link at the bottom to some sports photography images taken at the 1972 Olympics with the Mamiya.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.