Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A day of treats

A day of treats in Brighton. Starting with breakfast at Bill's. We'd loved it yesterday, and had spied the breakfast menu (eggs benedict and French toast please).

It was buzzing, crazy, noisy, good service, great food. Well, one of JR's eggs was not quite runny enough, so when the waitress came to see if everything was fine, I mentioned the wayward egg. She was most apologetic. End of story, usually. I hoped she mentioned it to the chef- they need to know. A few minutes later the manageress came and apologised, and said she'd take it off the bill. I thought she meant the price of the offending egg, but no- the price of the whole meal! How's that for excellent PR? What a brilliant place!

We then went to a coffee shop we'd spotted yesterday, and had a great coffee and excellent muffin. The soundtrack was groovy old stuff on a good sound system, therefore very acceptable, of course.

They were very serious about their coffee and had a 'brew lab' area with what looked like chemistry sets and Bunsen burners and bulbous jars. But no, it was to brew up coffee. We were lucky enough to see the whole procedure, which took ages. The barman (brewman) was so meticulous, stirring, watching, pouring, but couldn't resist having a few moves to 'Stayin' Alive'. The two people having the coffee declared that it was like 'tea'!! I'll stick to my flat whites, I think. I can't wait that long for a coffee!

From there we went to the Biba exhibition. It was great. I wasn't into fashion then, (Lol - I was never into fashion!) but it was interesting. Barbara Hulanicki been at Brighton School of Art and started the first Biba shop there. It could still be a shop in Brighton! People had sent in old photos and stories of their treasured Biba clothes and when they wore them. Fascinating contemporary history.

Then we wandered round to the Pavilion. An ice rink was set up in front of it and I must say it was done well, with a temporary restaurant (Jamie Oliver) and viewing areas. I took loads of photos, but without my wide angle lens I couldn't fit the crazy Pavilion in enough.

Popped into a crazy shoe shop that we were in last time. I asked if I could take a photo, but wasn't allowed. They did give me the website though. Worth a look!

Chose this shot of wee Henry today, in his usual pose of checking up on who's going by. As I've only got another couple of days with him, I don't feel guilty.

I've added these to my folio.

Top Hat.

Hove Beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.