Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Goodbye Henry!

JR came with us this morning for the final walk along the beach. Well, the final walk with Henry. For now.

There was grey blanket of cloud as far as the eye could see, but a wee sliver of sunshine away over to the east, and Brighton Pier was in it. But the high flats just inland were covered in a foggy duvet. Yes, that's a canoeist, too. As we went home, the sun broke through. Another nice day at the seaside.

I wanted a shot of the lovely wooden groynes. They are all washed smooth from the waves. Henry was happy to jump over a few lots of times till I got all of him in. I have so many of just his tail, lol!

We passed the beach huts from January 1st. Each and every one of them had big splodges of brown paint on them, right along. Who would do that? Why? Glad I got my clean photo.

We will miss wee Henry. But being with him has made me realise what is needed. First and foremost, a back garden. Being away all day in London was not a problem. Henry could get out when he wanted, but I suspect he just snoozed the day away on the sofa.

They also need an area to sit in when coming in wet, or muddy or after a shower, and to sleep in at night. They also need furniture that isn't cream coloured. Parts of the house not in carpet are essential.

I loved his little endearing habits. People with dogs know all these things. A dog really is like a wee person, part of the family. His little snufflings and gruntings. The way he'd take over the sofa in the evenings.

I've had dogs before, none of them particularly well trained. Henry was brilliant off the lead. He never went far, always kept stopping and looking and running back to me. He never got into arguments with other dogs. He'd trot right behind me for long periods.

I loved getting up in the mornings to see him. He went daft. He used to jump around me, then run to see JR in bed, legs scrabbling to skid round the corner on the wooden floor, then having done that, he'd charge back again to continue leaping around.

In the mornings, once I was up, he'd follow me around, looking pleading at me the whole time. When I did sit down and pick up my shoes, he'd go daft, sneezing and trying to grab my laces, running round and round the room.

He looked sad this morning when he saw the suitcases out. I can still see his wee face at the window as we left...

But hopefully we can go and look after him again some time. We had such a good time, with bonus visits from old friends, a visit to London and a blip meet, lots of good coffees, cakes, meals, and two amazing exhibitions.

Add in a wee dog, and it's a pretty perfect holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.