ashep

By ashep

Carnivore

Another one off my list of Aussie animals to see in the wild! This kookaburra is wild but relatively tame, because it was being fed by the local hotel in Lorne and would jump up on the guy's hand who was feeding him. I had forgotten that kookaburras were meat eaters until I saw them chowing down on some steak and whacking their catch against the fence to "kill" their meal before eating it. Not much to look at but they're really cool birds!

Today was a relatively uneventful trip home. We had planned on going to the beach before leaving but the weather didn't cooperate so we did some shopping instead. I was far too successful, as always, but I think they're well justified purchases!

I work for the next two days and then I'm off to Sydney for another vacation! Should be a good blip week :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.