The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

An Added Extra

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

I have recently had a whole load of judgy yoof speak explained to me:

Basic - someone who is unoriginal, mainstream, boring.

Extra - over the top, dramatic

VSCO girl - someone who wears baggy jeans, Birkenstocks and scrunchies and is never seen without a seashell necklace. The VSCO girl carries a reusable metal straw and a hydro flask. Someone who posts filtered pictures of herself edited on the app VSCO. VSCO girls are soooo basic.

Whilst I laughed a lot at having this explained to me and I am having great fun counting the eye rolls as I deliberately misuse these terms, it does make me a bit triggered* that they exist. Being a teenager and finding your place is hard enough without them.

Follow fashion, don’t follow fashion, be basic, be extra but most of all don’t give a f*** about this stuff. Ignore the media. Don’t join the judging to fit in. Like yourself. Compliment don’t criticise. Be kind. It doesn’t matter if the tune is yours or someone else’s. As long as you like the music and you’re happy dancing.

OMG - was that extra?

C

*more yoof speak. Means annoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.